Quarantine-Free Visits For Travellers Of 11 Countries, India Remains Excluded For Now

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.

New Delhi: With countries opening up its border for tourism, Singapore allowed visitors from nine more countries to travel without the need for quarantine. Since September 8 travellers from Brunei and Germany, who were on a trial of the Singapore Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL), were the only ones who managed quarantine-free entry to Singapore.

Going ahead, vaccinated travellers from another six European countries — Denmark, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, the United Kingdom, the US and Canada will join visitors from Germany and Brunei on the Singapore VTL scheme, according to news agency ANI. Also, those from South Korea will be able to enter.

ALSO READ: Air India Bid: Tata Sons To Fly Maharaja Again Ending 68-Yr Govt Control | Key Points

Singapore is quarantine-free for travellers from the aforementioned countries, however, India is excluded from this list as of now.

What are the requirements under the VTL scheme?

Those visitors coming under the arrangement of VTL need to stay in the countries for 14 consecutive days before taking the trip. They are allowed to be in multiple VTL countries or transit through these countries during this time.

In fact, those travelling under the VTL scheme have to fly on a VTL designated flight mainly operated by Singapore Airlines and Lufthansa (from Germany) at the moment. Other carriers will be added in due course. 


Moreover, passengers will have to show proof of being fully vaccinated against Covid-19 with vaccines that are on the WHO (World Health Organisation) Emergency Use List.

Residents of Singapore or the EU who were previously unvaccinated and had recovered from a past Covid-19 infection are considered fully vaccinated if they have received at least one dose of an approved vaccine.

After arriving in Singapore, one has to undergo a pre-departure PCR (polymerase chain reaction) Covid-19 test within 48 hours of flight departure and take another test on arrival at Changi Airport.

Non-residents of Singapore must also apply for a Vaccinated Travel Pass (VRP) online between seven and 30 days prior to the intended entry into Singapore.

Furthermore, short-term visitors must purchase travel insurance, with a minimum coverage of SGD 30,000 (USD 22,000) for COVID-19-related medical treatment and hospitalisation costs, prior to travel to Singapore.

During the VTL pilot which lasted about a month, out of the 1,926 people who visited Singapore from Germany and Brunei, only two tested positive, according to the agency.

Source link
#QuarantineFree #Visits #Travellers #Countries #India #Remains #Excluded

Leave a Reply